Nest-building in France: Episode 5

While John continues to do a few days work in England each month, I enjoy the tranquillity of life in France. The tranquillity though has frequently been broken by the severe winds and torrential rains which have dogged us this spring and brought down a large cherry tree in our garden. It didn’t take long to deal with it once Project Cherry Tree began.

Cherry tree down S

M. and Mme. Pepère, the tenants in Maison 2, have finally moved out. It’s been a long wait and the leaving date had been extended a couple of times. I attended the exit meeting between Mme Pepère and Mme Bovy from the Toulouse agency, who was doing the check.

 

As I’d not seen inside the house for about six years, I was very apprehensive about what I’d find. The condition could be described as rather tired and grubby, with a few other small issues, but nothing major. I was not surprised, just disappointed, that the tenants hadn’t made a better effort at cleaning. Mme Bovy noted all the blemishes, faults and marks and said she would get a quote for repainting, to which the tenants should contribute 50%. The Pepères have been in arrears with rental payments to us for over twelve months and have reneged on promises to repay the debt; we are not sure how much we shall be able to recoup.

The garden to Maison 2 had been similarly neglected, plenty of weeds, few surviving plants, and white gravel sprinkled and embedded in an area of the lawn. They had never cleared the rainwater ditch down the side of the garden, as they’re obliged to, so the water had become stagnant in the blockage. I made a point of handing Mme Pepère a plastic bag to deal with the dog mess before she left. But look! It took John and me only a few days work to make a significant improvement to the garden.

 

 

 

 

 

 

The previous week, whilst waiting for access to Maison 2, I began to up-cycle (that’s “repaint” for anyone puzzled) some old pieces of furniture. These first two pieces were done before I was told about Chalk Paint and discovered recipes for making it yourself. My problem now is getting hold of calcium carbonate powder in France at a sensible price. I’ve got more pieces I’m eager to refresh.

 

 

Just to give you all an “Ahhhh” moment to round off this blog… There are lots of new calves in the field next to ours. Rude Mummy cow showed her disapproval to our daughter who took these brilliant photos.

 

 

 

This blog is based on truth but for privacy and security many of the names have been changed.

3 thoughts on “Nest-building in France: Episode 5

  1. La vie en France rurale…and the pleasures of small personal achievements. Plus: summer’s on its way, and the garden will begin to grow grow grow.

    Like

  2. Oh dear , at least now you have it back ,the furniture looks great , you sound so chilled relaxed and happy great to see your blogs xxx

    Like

    1. Thanks Anne. I try to make the best I can of things and not let too much get me down. I don’t always succeed, unfortunately. Then I sing to myself “Always look on the bright side of life.” Where’s a smile emoji when you want one?

      Like

Leave a comment